Aave Case Study: Building Trust in Decentralised Finance (DeFi)

Dear Aave folks!

My name is Dr. Paul Dylan-Ennis (@polarpunklabs). I’m a Lecturer at the University College Dublin and with my colleague Mariia Ermolova we have completed Aave Case Study: Building Trust in Decentralised Finance (DeFi).

The case study is designed to be used in a traditional University setting and is part of the Level3: Web3 Educational Case Studies repository of open source case studies. The case study is offered with a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence. This means the copy should retain the attribution to the creators, cannot be used commercially and if you make changes you cannot distribute the modified version. This is essentially to stop paywall publishers re-using the content.

The case study was funded by the Aave Grants DAO.

The case study will be first used, unless someone beats me to it, in my Ethereum Ecosystem module at the University College Dublin next year.

If anyone has any ideas about how to improve the case study feel free to DM me on Twitter (@polarpunklabs) or open an Issue on GitHub. Please do keep in mind the case study is for relatively beginners. Almost certainly it could be much more detailed and much more complex, but in a classroom this can be less helpful than you might imagine.

Finally, the project received a $5,000 grant, but I only ended up using $1750 for a research assistant. This means there is $3250 left. I am happy to return it to the DAO to be used in other grants. Do let me know how to do this. Alternatively I can put it to good use in the classroom.

Thanks again everyone!

Paul

5 Likes

Hello o/

Great work on the case study and on your willingness to teach the next generation 'bout those subjects.

However, I have a few note from reading your work: